Uncategorized

More Muscle In Less Time: Multi-Joint Exercises

Exercises can be classified either as compound, which are exercises that involve more than one muscle group, or isolation exercises, which are exercises that isolate a muscle group by concentrating on that one group of muscles.For the most time-efficient workouts, compound exercises are recommended because compound exercises can stimulate all the major muscles in the body and create the greatest change in body composition in the shortest time. As an added bonus, compound exercises help develop the body proportionately.

Compound exercises are movements that use multiple joints at one time. When you perform compound exercises, more muscle groups are recruited and used per exercise. For example, POWER CLEAN AND PRESS is a multi-joint exercise because the shoulder and elbow, nee, and hip joints are working to execute the movement. In turn, the POWER CLEAN AND PRESS works several muscle groups, including the muscles in the, legs, cavs, glutes, chest, shoulders, and triceps.

On the other hand, the biceps curl is a single-joint exercise since only the elbow joint is moving. The biceps curl only works the biceps muscle and is more of an isolated exercise.

So, when you are looking for a quality workout that hits lots of muscles, compound exercises help you do more in less time. By working several muscle groups at the same time, you can perform fewer exercises and reduce the total amount of time you spend in the gym.

Compound exercises also increase strength and size far more effectively than single-joint, isolation exercises. This doesn’t mean that single-joint exercises are ineffective. Exercises that isolate certain muscles and muscle groups do have an important role in fitness, especially for advanced lifters. However, if your schedule calls for reduced exercise time, compound exercises are the way to go. As an added bonus, they are more functional since virtually every movement in everyday activities, such as sitting or kneeling, and in sports like basketball or baseball, involve moving multiple joints.

Multi-Joint Exercises
Squats: Recognized mostly for building powerful thighs and hips, squats also add size to the upper body — including the back, shoulders, chest, and arms — due to their anabolic effect.

Deadlifts: The deadlift is another anabolic king because it not only increases lower body growth, but that of the upper body as well.

Leg Presses: These enable you to use heavier resistance than do leg extensions or curls, thus promoting more muscle growth. While three or more sets each of leg extensions and leg curls mainly work the quadriceps and hamstrings respectively, three or more heavy sets of leg presses or squats will strengthen and add more mass to the quadriceps, hamstrings and gluteals — in a shorter time frame!

Front, Side or Reverse Lunges and Stepups: These are also excellent time-saving multi-joint lower body exercises, and they are particularly more functional for sports and daily activities than leg extensions or leg curls.

Bench Presses, Dips and Pushups: When it comes to the upper body, bench presses, dips and pushups not only add mass to the chest, shoulders and back, but the triceps as well. In fact, they do it much more effectively than single-joint tricep pressdowns or kickbacks. Also, eliminate those single-joint dumbbell flyes for the chest for several weeks; these exercises will build up your chest muscles to a greater degree in less time.

Overhead Presses: Excellent for shoulders and triceps.

Pulldowns, Pullups, Barbell Rows, and Dumbbell Rows: You’ll see your biceps grow without doing one curl; not to mention the added size of your back muscles from doing these exercises.

Upright Rows: They’re also a bicep and forearm-building movement, as well as a wonderful shoulder and upper back exercise.

I have brokend down how to do ALL of thies workouts and more in my workout plan (It includes a video for each)

For best results, make sure you follow a good total body routine and diet (you get both in my workout plan). It may also help to try a good fat burner like TEA REXX, it is what I use to help me stay ripped.

24 thoughts on “More Muscle In Less Time: Multi-Joint Exercises

  1. I downloaded your workout bro but it go deleted, you said you will dm it to me on twitter, these workouts look great, get back to me, peace !

  2. I downloaded your workout bro but it go deleted, you said you will dm it to me on twitter, these workouts look great, get back to me, peace !!

  3. i been wondering for a while now, can i work out abdominals every day? some say u can some say u cant cause they need rest like any other muscles..

    • I hear people “say” you can work them everyday, but I have gotten the best results for myself and my clients by only working them 2-4 days a week (and never 2 days in a row).

  4. Yo Brandon I have a question about fat burners you see I’m already a lean guy but I wanted to take a short cut to getting ripped like I used to be before I had a knee injury. I can’t do leg exercises so I’m really missing out on the benefits from em. Anyway I ordered r”apidcuts hardcore” by allmax nutrition so I got it in the mail and it seems way to extreme. It claims to help you lose 11.9 lbs in 8 weeks I’m 5 7′ 147 lbs and BF 8% so I don’t have 11.9 lbs to lose. I’ve never experimented with fat burners so forgive my lack of knowledge but is it possible for me to lose muscle mass by taking this fat burner and do fat burners only target the metabolism of fat?

    • Whats up man. there is no “short cut cut to getting ripped”. there are things that can help. Your going to need a clean diet. If you cant run cuz of you knee, you should walk. Walking is great for burning fat! my mom lost 50 lbs just from walking on the treadmill one hour in the morning and on hour at night! Most suplaments are WAY to extreme for me too, they make me fill like a doped up junkie (some people like that) then I crash an hour later. The only fat burner I recommend is drinking A LOT of water and Green Tea. If you dont want, or have time to drink Green Tea all day then Tea Rexx supplement/ (this is the fat burning I take everyday). Good luck. keep me posted on your progress!

  5. Just wanted to say so far following your plan I have gone from a 42” waist down to a 38”. I haven’t lost a lot of weight, which I guess is down to gaining muscle – I started at 220 pounds and am now about 200 but have flatlined at that weight. Just started my fourth month …cant wait to see results after 6.

    • Thats st8 up crazy talk bro. Not only is there a video for ever exercise I mentioned in this post, I also show you how to do them with Barbells, dumbbells, Resistance bands and more. did you look at all the videos in the program? (there are over 50 videos!!!) I dont know how you could have check out the whole program and say that they are not there bro. please check again and hit me back. if you still cant find them than we will try to re-send everything to you.

      • Truee, sorry bro, i didnt look in the home workout plan because i dont workout at home. i got the vids. nice 1 !

  6. Hi Brandon.. look I’ve got some questions…. the first one is.. if I buy your work-out plan in how much time I am going to see results?? and if do you have in the plan also exercises for the gym, (not just for home) and a meal plan??
    Thanks bro

  7. Hey Brandon, I was just passing threw and i saw your workouts,the look great. i actually always been in really good shape my whole life until i had shoulder surgery and now i have problem with my neck which doesnt let me work out like i used to or at all,my queation is what can you recommend for me to do with these type of injuries.

  8. Hey Brandon, I got your email about the new high life plan 2.0, so i clicked the link to try to download it. All that it did was take me to a dropbox page with a 403 error on it. Is there any other way I can download the NEW version? Thanks P.S. I also sent you an email

  9. Heya brandon I am propably one of the youngest (im 14) people using you workout program not that i really need to since my normal fatburning level is that high. But just wanted to ask if you have any ideas for getting rid of a little bit of fat kn the stomach hiding my else big apps. and if you know how it can be that my bicep is big and souch but not really hard like other muscels? btw i live in denmark ans I cant find the TEA REXX! 😦

  10. Hey Brandon, listen I’m 16 and weigh 207 pounds and 5′ 8″. People look at at me and never think that I’m over 190 so I guess that means that I have a Lot of muscle mass. I used to intensly work on my abs about 4-5 months but stopped cause I couldn’t take the pain anymore. I have broad shoulders and an athletic look of a linebacker. Currently I’ve been averaging 85 to 100 push-ups (in reps) for about 2 months but still have flab on my chest and still have a stomach and I’m sick of it can you help me please?!?!!!!

  11. Hey Brandon, I’m 21 6”2 175 lbs. I just recently switched my diet to get rid of some fat around the love handles area as well as my chest. I have seen a difference in my abs as I have been working them out the past 3 weeks, although my lower abs and love handles arent losing anything. All I drink is water and I jog for about 45 min 3 days a week…I havent been able to lose fat around my chest area either…What advice do you have for me?? Thanks bro.

  12. great job dude. i’ve been weight lifting in my basement for about 10 months and have made considerable progress overall by working out muscle groups only once per week. however i realized that although I’m progressively overloading at a great pace, my muscles are recovering faster than before, which i guess is normal considering that i’ve been consisistently working out. so my question to you is…is it better to train muscle groups twice per week by utilizing an upper / lower body routine and still see remarkable gains instead of once per week? my only doubt is that each workout will not tax the muscle since i can only perform about 2 exercises per muscle group in each session. thanks a keep up the great work!

  13. I have been reading through your blog each time I obtain a possibility…and I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoy it! I have appreciation for your contributions to this matter!

  14. Hey Dude… First of all I must say that you have a great body -good job- !
    I’m 18 and i’m lookin for a great muscles… I just wanna know if i can contact with u by e-mail ? Btw… I have w good body till now… I can send you a pic if you want…. Thx anyway.

Leave a Reply

