DIET / Fat loss / Motivation / NURITION / Women Fitness

How Sleep Helps You Burn Fat and Build Muscle Faster!

Every day people ask me what supplements I take or what foods do I eat to stay in shape. But I am surprised that nobody ever ask me “How much do you sleep” because one of the easiest ways to burn fat and build muscle  is simply to get more sleep.
How Sleep Helps You Burn Fat
Research published this month in the Annals of Internal Medicine (one of the the big kahunas of peer reviewed medical journals) establishes that sleep–and sleep alone–is one of the most powerful diet tools ever identified.
There’s not a diet pill on the planet that could accomplish what sleep did in this study, which compared two groups of overweight non-smokers on calorie restricted diets for 14 days. One group clocked 8.5 hours of sleep per night, and the other logged 5.5 hours of sleep per night (which the authors point out is a “norm” for people in this day and age.) Both groups ate roughly 1,450 calories a day. After two weeks, the people who slept more lost more fat than the group who slept less. More than half of the weight loss during the 8.5 hours of sleep was fat versus only one quarter of the weight loss during the 5.5 hours of sleep. People literally burned fat while they slept.

Even more startling, the folks who slept less lost more muscle (60% more muscle was lost by the sleep-deprived group.)  Those three hours of lost sleep caused a shift in metabolism that made the body want to preserve fat at the expense of muscle. And that’s not all that happened: When the researchers compared circulating blood levels of appetite-regulating  hormones in the two groups they found those who slept for three fewer hours had produced more of the appetite stimulating hormone ghrelin. They woke up hungrier!

Most of us assume our bodies burn more calories when we are awake longer, but that’s not true. The metabolic rate is down-regulated with less sleep. Translation: When you sleep less, your body starts to burn calories at a slower rate to preserve energy. In the study, people burned on average 400 more calories by sleeping for 3 more hours–that’s an additional 2,800 calories burned in just one week. With less sleep, the body seeks to meet the increased metabolic needs of longer waking hours by shifting into a lower gear, so to speak, that burns fewer calories and less fat.

How Sleep Helps you Build Muscle
First, when you lift weights, what you’re doing is actually tearing the muscle tissue in a healthy way. After you eat your body uses certain nutrients to repair your muscle tissue. What you need to remember though, is that the protein and your body won’t start repairing your muscle tissue until you are at rest for a extended period of time, such as sleep. What this means is that if you are lacking sleep, your body isn’t getting sufficient time to repair and recover your muscles one hundred percent.
In addition to this, since sleep is the primary time the body recovers from exercise, it’s also when you will be rebuilding your torn muscle tissues. Without this recovery time, you’re going to go into your next exercise session at a disadvantage.

Finally, you must not overlook the connection between the amount of sleep you get and your overall exercise performance. When you are short on sleep, it’s quite typical to find yourself struggling to maintain the usual level of exercise that you normally would tolerate quite well.

One of the key recommendations for combating over training syndrome, which will quickly take you away from your workouts and limit further fat loss, is getting quality sleep. Failing to do so could mean you having to take time away from your program, which will without question of a doubt, slow you down.

So make sure you’re getting your 7-8 hours of sleep each night. Not only are you going to feel better, think clearer, and be much stronger when it comes to battling those food cravings that are so common with fat loss diets, but you’ll also really be helping promote better long-term health as well.

Bottom Line: If you want to burn fat, preserve muscle and wake up less hungry when you are dieting, sleep more…8.5 hours a night to be exact.

If you are new to this site, make sure you Download the my “15 min Ab Workout” for FREE from my FaceBook page (make sure to “like” it!) This FREE Link

IF your REALLY ready to take your body to the next level, make sure your on total body routine and diet plan!!! (you get both in my FULL workout plan). It may also help to try a good fat burner like TEA REXX, it is what I use to help me stay ripped.
Download the Full High Life Workout Plan NOW

!!!LET NOTHING STOP YOU!!!

sincerely,

Brandon Carter (Follow Me With The Links Below

21 thoughts on “How Sleep Helps You Burn Fat and Build Muscle Faster!

  1. I think i am too fat . My weight is 90 kg with height 5.9 inch.. I want to loose my weight but my confidence is very low. Pls help me and give me some tips…

    • Whats up Wasim!

      I understand what your going trew bro. When I was young I used to get beat up and robbed on the way home from school. I was too skinny and weak to defend myself so my confidence was low too. The great thing about workout is that it instantly boost your mood and confidence! Not only will you be stronger and looking better, but the act of accomplish something everyday like working out makes you feel like you can accomplish anything!

      I have seen people’s personality and confidence go from “Woody Allen” to “James Bond” in just a few months! this website is a great place to start on you journey Wasim. Check out some of the articals and videos for tips!

      Keep me posted on your progress!

  2. yo brandon,

    Thanks for the continous effort you put in writing these articles for us :).

    I do have 1 small question related to your full workout plan.

    you said that the full work out plan contains your diet e-book which the free workout plan doesnt have included right?

    And is that the only benefit of the full workout plan?

    • Thanks man! i am glad that you have found the articles helpful! The full workout has a detailed diet plan, and over 50 HD videos that explain how to do each exercise at the gym OR at home! I put A LOT of time into the full program to make it as helpful and easy to follow as it can be

  3. Hi Brandon,

    I find your site very inspirational as well as educational. Thanks for putting together such awesome videos and articles. I have a question about this article though. I often work out late at night because I work a full-time job during the day, then go to school for 3 hours in the evening. If I am doing a rest-day or if I put off a workout just to get 8.5 hours of sleep, does that mean I should plan on decreasing my caloric intake for the day? I have my meals planned down to a T for the day, which is basically 6-7 meals with the balanced amount of proteins and carbs. But if I know I won’t be working out at all that day, should I decrease my protein intake, my carb intake, or just my entire caloric intake? My fear is that if I decrease any of that, my body will go into starvation mode and start to hold on to calories instead of burning them.

  4. Hi mister!
    I read this article and I have one little question. Im grateful if you could answere. So I am sleeping 10 HOURS per day. Im 20 YO. Is that also good? Thnx god!

    • lol it sounds good to me! That was normal before Edison invented the light bulb! Humans were ment to go to sleep when they sun went down and wake up when it rises. Thats not practical in this day and age, but the more sleep the better!!!

  5. hey man i got a question how come i gained alot in 2 months working out but after that i quit but now im starting over again but i dont see the same results
    please answer i would apreciate it

  6. What up Brandon.im tryin to get ripped also and i have been seeing results.the only problem i have is that i have these very small love handles on my lower back thats keeping me from having the nice smooth back i would like to have.any advise how to get rid of them.i was wondering if i workout my upper back more and abs it will straighten out my lower back.i dont know.

  7. That’s great to know thanks I was always told that when you sleep you lost your muscle so I would stay up later but know I know that that is wrong. Thanks Brandon!

  8. Hi, im a freshmen runningback. I broke my leg, couldnt do anything. Gained a lot of weight, lost a lot of muscle, and a lot of speed. i need to get back to the i was. Any ideas? sugestions?

  9. Hey Brandon, I’m starting to working out and gotta ask you how and what type of exercise I gotta do to lose my oblique fats? One more q, if i workout is my stretch marks going to be there permanently? I mean no body wanna have a six pack while having their “used-to-be-fat” marks aite? Just let me know a few tips from you aite? Peace!

  10. hi Brandon,
    I eat 6meals a day and I take whey protein as well,i keep my protein intake high.i need to burn fat and build muscle simultaneously,can it be done and if u think I should change my diet and workout routin pls tel me.

  11. hey brandon whats up,

    i just wanted to know the best way to lose belly fat cause i went all over youtube and i just feel that you would know more!…..and a estimated time like how many weeks would it take to see results…im 5’1 and about 110-115 lbs.. im 13

  12. I’m 5,5 and 200 pound but every one in my family is muscle and I’m mostly fat I work out almost everyday and for at least a hour but nothing chages

  13. Yo Brandon! What’s up?
    I got a question. What about sleeping during the day? For example, what happens if I sleep after lunch? It’s better or worse to sleep during the day? Thanks in advance.

Leave a Reply

