ABS / back / Bicep / Cardio / home workout / Motivation / shoulders / Tricep / Weight Lifting

Advanced Workout Techniques”TRI-SETS” (New Video)

A Great Way to take your workout to the next level Is to start doing “TRI-SETS”

A Tri Set is one large set, composed of three sets of different exercises, all targeting the same muscle group.

Pick exercises, perform each exercise to failure (don’t count reps! counting reps is for suckas! your better that that!) , no rest between the exercises.
You will have to use lighter weights in for each exercise, which makes it kind of like a “drop set”, but it’s different because you hit the muscle from an different angle each time you switch exercises

Example of a Tri Set for Biceps

Barbell Curl

“Carter Curls”
(or “alternating dumbbell curls”)
Reverse Curls
Examples of Tri Sets for muscle groups

The above exercises completed back to back to compose one Tri Set. Perform between two and three of these Tri Sets for your biceps session. The exercises implemented in this Tri Set should offer a variety of stress to the elbow flexor muscles.

Example of a Tri Set for Back

Seated Cable Row
Underhand Pull Down
Wide Grip Pull Down

The above exercises completed back to back to compose one Tri Set. Perform between two and three of these Tri Sets for your back session. Note the high use of cables due to ease of changing resistance in case the weight has to be reduced due to fatigue.

Example of a Tri Set for Chest

Dumbbell Flys
Dumbbell Press
Chest Dips

The above exercises completed back to back to compose one Tri Set. Perform between two and three of these Tri Sets for your chest session. Dumbbell Flys are performed at the start of the Tri Set to pre-exhaust the chest fibres before the pressing exercises.

Example of a Tri Set for Triceps

Cable Press Down
Close Grip Bench Press
Triceps Dips

The above exercises completed back to back to compose one Tri Set. Perform between two and three of these Tri Sets for your triceps session. The press down is performed at the beginning of the Tri Set to tire the triceps directly in an isolated manner before the pressing. Add resistance to the dips if required.

Example of a Tri Set for Shoulders

Dumbbell Lateral Raises
Military Press
Upright Row

The above exercises completed back to back to compose one Tri Set. Perform between two and three of these Tri Sets for your shoulders session. This Tri Set will successfully stress the front and side head of the deltoids, it however offers little stress to the rear deltoid head. An additional exercise which targets the rear head may be wisely performed at the end of your shoulders session for balance.

Example of a Tri Set for Calfs

Standing Calf Raise
Seated Calf Raise
Donkey Calf Raise

The above exercises completed back to back to compose one Tri Set. Perform between two and three of these Tri Sets for your calf session. This Tri Set will target the gastrocnemius and the soleus muscles of the calf effectively. The donkey calf raise offers a great stretch to the calfs during the latter phrase of the Tri Set when the muscles are highly pumped.

When your adding Tri-Sets to you workout, make sure you
Never Do More that 3 sets of Tri-Sets per workout per body part

For best results, make sure you follow a good total body routine and diet (you get both in my workout plan). It may also help to try a good fat burner like TEA REXX, it is what I use to help me stay ripped.

!!! LET NOTHING STOP YOU!!!

Brandon Carter A.K.A. “Metta World WAR”

P.S.

Here is video of me and my little Sister “”La’Rayne” doing a cover of Buno Mars’s  “It Will Rain” With me on acoustic guitar. If you like it, you can download it for FREE HERE enjoy!

24 thoughts on “Advanced Workout Techniques”TRI-SETS” (New Video)

  1. Hey brandon, your a good example of How we all should weight lift. I usually count my reps, but after reading this, ill try the tri sets. Reading your techniques will help me achieve my goals.

    • THanks Gabriel!!!

      I dont think you should EVER count reps, even when your NOT doing “tri-sets”. Count reps sets arbitrary goals that dont necessarily mean your working to muscle to the max. If i say “I am going to do 10 pull ups” but I can still do more when I get to 10, then stopping at 10 will not help me at all!!! Just do EVERY thing until you can not do any more!!! thats the ONLY to let your body know that it needs get stronger and build more muscle!

      Thanks for the comment!

      • Never really thought about it that way before, but it is actually very true. You limit yourself by counting reps. As long as you push yourself enough, then you don’t need to count reps.

        It actually reminds me of something Ray Lewis about training:

        “I don’t train for reps, I don’t train for time, I train for failure, I like to see my body fail”.

  2. hi brandon, in your last video, tri series, I wonder if I work all body parts in the same train or three sets of triseries muscle group per day and is identified as they come. thanks you are a machine

      • Sorry Brandon I do not understand very well the day ……. then q chest work (dumbbell fly, dumbbell bench press and dips) alone would make these 3 years in a row, and tirelessly to failure in 3 series only and nothing else. ……. Or is it all that you indicate as a sort of circuit-training.gracias

    • Sorry Brandon, I do not understand what I mean, if I do only one muscle group per day (ie three sets of each exercise indicated no rest between each other and fail), or do all muscle groups with all explained in the order described as in the form of circuit training, look to see if I can explain better
      thanks guy and sorry for my English is very bad jajajjajaja

  3. hi brandon, in your last video, tri series, I wonder if I work all body parts in the same train or three sets of triseries muscle group per day and is identified as they come. thanks you’re a machine.

  4. Hey, Brandon! Thanks a lot for videos and tips! Looking forward to try those try sets! I´m really a big fan of your work (including your sound). Let me ask a question: do you think that swimming could interfere the recuperation of chest and/or back? I mean: I like to swim, that´s the best cardio exercise for me…But sometimes I think that I shouldn’t swim on the day before or the day after I train chest/back. What do you think of that?

    Thanks!

    • HEy Kyle!

      Swimming is great for you! swimming will not interfere with you building muscle (unless your burning more cals that you consume) but building muscle my interfere with your swimming! Muscle is more dense that water (meaning it sinks in water) and fat is less dense that water (so it flouts in water). So the more muscle you build, the better your conditioning needs to be to swim well.

  5. Only issue I see with this is after the first set you are only recruiting medium to small motor units and no longer tapping into the big motor untis. May not be the best for some one trying to build mass fast.

    • Hey Mitchel,

      I understand why you say that, but it no 100% accurate. when you switch to a different exercise you recruit muscle fibers that were not 100% involved in the previous move. Tri-Sets are not something to be done every workout. its a way to switch things up to confuse muscle. muscle confusions is MANDATORY for someone trying to build mass fast

      Thanks for you comment Michel

  6. Brandon, do you have an example of how to use tri-sets for the abs? I’m thinking something along the lines of hanging leg raises, mountain climbers and finishing off with a plank. What do you think?

    -Mitchell

  7. Yo Brandon !
    Another one for you. I do weight training 5 times a week + explosive training + hip hop dancing + parkour training 5 times a week as well. How much protein do i need ? Do i stick to +/- 1 gr per bodyweight ?

    Thanks for your lights !

    Mia

  8. Pozzz… Brandon i am from croatia, and you workout is fantastic!
    I have small question for you. How many sets are you use in tri-sets workout? Is just 1 sets for biceps or you doing more? and, are you doing this only for biceps training day or for all body workout?
    SORRY for my english….

  9. hei brandon what do you recommend to eat for a 150 pounds and 74 inch man. im doing upper body workout + cardio on monday,wednesday and friday. And i do ab workout + cardio on tuesday,thursday and satruday. sunday is my cheat day ? and how fast do you think i can gain muscle mass with so much weight and height with this workout ?

  10. hi what do you recommend to eat for a 150 pounds and 74 inch man. im doing upper body workout + cardio on monday,wednesday and friday. And i do ab workout + cardio on tuesday,thursday and satruday. sunday is my cheat day ? and how fast do you think i can gain muscle mass with so much weight and height with this workout ?
    Reply

  11. I got an injury recently from a wrestling class so this workout suited me down to a tee… did it today! Thanks.

    One question though, I rested a minute in-between every “tri-set” would you say that was about right even for something as intense as this?

  12. Hey Brandon love the website 😛
    I was just wondering what exercises that I could do to really improve strength. Getting a beach body would be great but my top priority is getting stronger. I play Rugby so…yea 😛
    haha thanks man

  13. Hey Brandon,

    I have been doing the tri set routine for quite a while and I do 20 reps each… So whts the next step now ?? Your suggestions would be really great 🙂

  14. Yo Brandon , Im 5ft 6 – 7 around about 54kg and looking to bulk , because im a skinny bitch. Anyway have you got any tips for bulking? I work chest an back monday , shoulders tuesday , bicep an tricep wednesday , Swimming Thursday an what ever I feel like friday then rest saturday an sunday. Could you also anwser this .. The gym I go to only have dumbells so for my chest I press 18kg dumbells .. Is this a good weight to be using at my weight or should I lower it ?

  15. Hey Brandon,

    i’m Nick and I purchased your fuller workout yesterday and i’m following everything to the very inch, even the nutrition (I love how you don’t get full after eating, you get to the point of being satisfied!)

    but I was wondering about the “Tri-sets” if I were doing shoulders for example (because it is shoulder day), could I do tri-sets of different shoulder workouts for the whole hour? or do I just do one 3 sets of tri sets?

    please reply

Leave a Reply

